2012 Fall Leadership Development Conference

The 38th Annual Fall Leadership Development Conference was held November 2-3, 2012 in Raleigh, NC. Delegates numbering 177 PBL and PD members represented 23 chapters. NCPBL proved it is truly the leader in Igniting Innovations by providing regional meetings, two general sessions and five leadership tracks as learning opportunities.

There was a tie between Central Carolina Community College and Stanly Community College for the largest delegation at the conference.

There were seven recruitment displays proudly using the Igniting Innovations theme and 1st place for the President's Award went to Gaston College. The Non-Trivia Competition, always a crowd favorite, was won by Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College. The Largest State Chapter Membership Award by the reporting deadline was Central Carolina  Community College and the chapter having the Largest State Professional Division Award reporting by the deadline was Vance-Granville Community College. Fourteen chapters were recognized as Gold Star Chapters at the conference.

The Foundation awarded scholarships at the FLDC to three recipients: Allison Gahrmann, Gaston College; Diane Powell, Vance-Granville Community College; and Courtney Seidenschmidt, Stanly Community College. The Pin Design Contest was won by Jennifer Heath of Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College.  The Foundation also held a T-Shirt design contest for the first time with the chapter at Randolph Community College submitting the winning design.

Schools showed their chapter t-shirts at the popular dance on Friday night. A Jail and Bail was held to raise money for the March of Dimes.  From workshops to motivational sessions to networking, the 2012 FLDC celebrated leadership as an important step in chapters' Igniting Innovations this year.